Andre A. Konski serves as Medical Director for Radiation Oncology at Chester County Hospital

Andre Konski, MDAndre A. Konski, MD, MBA, MA FACR, medical director of the department of Radiation Oncology at Chester County Hospital and professor of Clinical Radiation Oncology in the department of Radiation Oncology in the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, has been named among the 30 Fellows of the American Society for Radiation Oncology (FASTRO).

Dr. Konski received the FASTRO recognition this week during the organization's 56th Annual Meeting at the Moscone Center in San Francisco.

Awarded annually since 2006, ASTRO's Fellows Program honors radiation oncology leaders who have been an ASTRO member for at least 15 years and have made substantial contributions to the field of radiation oncology in the areas of research, education, patient care or service, and leadership. Including the 2014 class of 30 Fellows, 242 of ASTRO's more than 10,000 members worldwide have received the FASTRO designation.

Dr. Konski was appointed as medical director of Radiation Oncology at Chester County Hospital in February 2014. Chester County Hospital is a member hospital of the University of Pennsylvania Health System's patient care facilities. Dr. Konski was also recently named a Senior Fellow in the Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics at the University of Pennsylvania.

He earned his medical degree in 1984 from New York Medical College. He earned a Master's in Business Administration, as well as a Master of Arts in Economics from the University of Toledo in 1995 and 1998, respectively. In 1988, he completed his residency in radiation oncology at Strong Memorial Hospital in Rochester, New York.

Dr. Konski joined the Medical College of Ohio as an assistant professor in 1988 and was appointed as clinical associate professor in 1990. In 2002, he joined Fox Chase Cancer Center as an attending physician and was appointed chief medical officer of the Fox Chase Cancer Center Partners Program in 2007. Soon after, he was appointed professor and chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at Wayne State University School of Medicine in Detroit, and also served as chief of Radiation Therapy at the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Center.

"These 30 new Fellows have contributed significantly to ASTRO, the specialty and cancer patients worldwide. Their leadership in and service to research, education and patient care efforts will continue to impact the cancer care we provide our patients," said ASTRO President Bruce G. Haffty, MD, FASTRO. "Congratulations to my esteemed colleagues on receiving the ASTRO Fellow designation."

To read more about the 2014 FASTRO awardees, visit the ASTRO web site.

Share This Page: